The Pembrokeshire’s Industrial Past Group went on another exciting adventure. As part of their research into the industrial landscape along the Whitland to Fishguard train route the group boarded a train in Whitland on one murky Friday morning in March. The group looked at the landscape and sites visible along the route. Getting off at the Fishguard Harbour they were welcomed by Carl Milne, the Stena Line Transport and Freight Manager, who had given the group a tour of the harbour areas that are not normally accessible by public.
The group took a stroll along the north side of the breakwater towards the light house. The north side of the 3/4mile long breakwater was completed in 1918 and consists of stone and rubble as well as huge concrete blocks weighing around 40 tons each. In the lighthouse the walls bear marks of staff working there going back to early 1950’s. Names, dates, notes and prices of beer and fags over different years are still visible.
Officially opened in 1906 the port of Fishguard was once a bustling place. It was visited by Mauretania, the first Cunard liner to use the port, on 30 August 1909. The port was mainly used for shipment of passengers, goods and cattle to Ireland. The group members were lucky to explore the original subway below the passengers’ platform, through which cattle used to embark and disembark the ships.
After lunch the group looked at photographs of the harbour being built and the personnel working on site over the years. The group caught the 1.30pm train back and further explored the industrial landscape on the way back to Whitland.